Jane’s Addiction Celebrate Sterling Spoon Anniversary With New Vinyl Boxed Set October 21

Sterling Spoon (180 Gram Vinyl)(6LP)

Sterling Spoon (180 Gram Vinyl)(6LP)

Release Date


Alt-Rock Pioneers Near The End Of Summer Tour That Features
Ritual de lo Habitual Performed In Its Entirety Each Night

New Six-LP Collection Coming October 21 From Rhino Includes
Nothing’s Shocking, Ritual de lo Habitual, Plus the Vinyl Debut Of Rarities,
A Complete Live Show From 1990, And More

LOS ANGELES – Jane’s Addiction will celebrate a “Sterling Spoon Anniversary” this year to commemorate the release of Ritual de lo Habitual and the first Lollapalooza. The revelry began in July when the band launched a highly anticipated tour that includes Ritual de lo Habitual played in its entirety each night.

The party will continue in October when the band releases STERLING SPOON, an epic, six-LP collection that includes Nothing’s Shocking and Ritual de lo Habitual, along with the vinyl debuts for the 1990 concert recording Live From The Palladium and a selection of rarities, demos, and live takes from the 1997 compilation Kettle Whistle.

Sterling Spoon (180 Gram Vinyl)(6LP) Jane's Addiction

Sterling Spoon (180 Gram Vinyl)(6LP)
Jane’s Addiction

The band, which has been directly involved with the set’s creative direction, selected LA-based Ernesto Yerena to produce its cover art. Limited to just 5,000 pieces worldwide, STERLING SPOON will be available on October 21 for a list price of $99.98.

The collection focuses mainly on the Los Angeles -based quartet’s first incarnation —Perry Ferrell (vocals), Dave Navarro (guitar), Eric Avery (bass), and Stephen Perkins (drums) — and includes the band’s landmark studio albums: Nothing’s Shocking (1988) and Ritual de lo Habitual (1990). It was those recordings that made the group underground heroes with songs like: “Jane Says,” “Ocean Size,” “Mountain Song,” and the #1 Modern Rock hits “Been Caught Stealing” and “Stop!”

Jane’s Addiction made great albums, but it was the band’s live shows that cemented its legend. As a testament to it stage prowess, STERLING SPOON includes the group’s entire performance at the Hollywood Palladium from December 1990, a concert recording that was originally released in 2008 as part of the Rhino’s boxed set A Cabinet of Curiosities. Among the highlights are thunderous performances of such classics as: “Three Days,” “Stop!” and “Summertime Rolls.”

Jane’s Addiction Tour Dates:

September 2 Riot Fest Denver, CO
September 21 The Masonic San Francisco, CA
September 23 Irvine Meadows Amphitheatre Irvine, CA
September 24 Life Is Beautiful Festival Las Vegas, NV

Six-LP Set Track Listing

Nothing’s Shocking

Side One:
1. “Up The Beach”
2. “Ocean Size”
3. “Had A Dad”
4. “Ted, Just Admit It…”
5. “Standing In The Shower…Thinking”

Side Two:
1. “Summertime Rolls”
2. “Mountain Song”
3. “Idiots Rule”
4. “Jane Says”
5. “Thank You Boys”

Ritual De Lo Habitual

Side One:
1. “Stop”
2. “No One’s Leaving”
3. “Ain’t No Right”

Side Two:
1. “Obvious”
2. “Been Caught Stealing”

Side Three:
1. “Three Days”
2. “Then She Did”

Side Four:
1. “Of Course”
2. “Classic Girl”

Kettle Whistle Extractions

Side One:
1. “Kettle Whistle”
2. “Ocean Size” (Demo)
3. “My Cat’s Name Is Maceo” (Demo)

Side Two:
1. “Had A Dad” (Outtake)
2. “So What!”
3. “Mountain Song” (Demo)
4. “Been Caught Stealing” (Outtake)
5. “City” (Soul Kiss 88)

Live At The Hollywood Palladium 1990

Side One:
1. Drum Intro
2. “Up The Beach”
3. “Whores”
4. “1%”
5. “No One’s Leaving”

Side Two:
1. “Ain’t No Right”
2. “Then She Did…”
3. “Had A Dad”

Side Three:
1. “Been Caught Stealing”
2. “Three Days”

Side Four:
1. “Mountain Song”
2. “Stop!”
3. “Summertime Rolls”
4. “Ocean Size”

Source: Rhino Media


Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by TBird's Radio Network - October 20, 2016 at 9:10 am

Categories: Entertainment   Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Pantera The Great Southern Trendkill 20th Anniversary Edition Available October 21

The Great Southern Trendkill (20th Anniversary)(Explicit) Pantera

The Great Southern Trendkill (20th Anniversary)(Explicit)

Release Date


Pantera Expands Its Fourth Album As A Two-Disc Set That Pairs The
Original With A Dozen Previously Unreleased Studio And Live Recordings

Available On October 21 From Rhino

LOS ANGELES – Pantera pulled no punches on The Great Southern Trendkill, one of the most intense and hardest-hitting albums the group ever recorded; which is saying something. Released in 1996, the album reached #4 on the Billboard Top 200 chart, and went on to become Pantera’s fourth consecutive platinum release.

The album turns 20 this year and to mark the occasion Rhino will release THE GREAT SOUTHERN TRENDKILL: 20th ANNIVERSARY EDITION. This two-disc set includes the original album remastered, plus a dozen previously unreleased mixes, instrumentals, and live recordings. The set also features rare photos from the era, as well as new liner notes by esteemed rock critic and radio producer Katherine Turman that explore the stories behind the album and its legacy. The collection will be available on October 21 as a 2-CD set ($19.98) and digitally. On the same day, a single LP titled THE GREAT SOUTHERN OUTTAKES will also be available ($21.98) featuring 10 of the unreleased tracks.

The Great Southern Outtakes - Pantera

The Great Southern Outtakes – Pantera

After Pantera topped the album charts in 1994 with Far Beyond Driven, Philip Anselmo, Rex Brown, Dimebag Darrell, and Vinnie Paul returned two years later with the dark, unrelenting and highly personal music heard on The Great Southern Trendkill.

The record stayed on the charts for more than three months and produced three singles: “Drag The Waters,” “Suicide Note Pt. 1,” and fan favorite “Floods,” a power ballad that includes an epic guitar solo that showcases Dimebag’s fretboard wizardry and is considered by many to be his finest.

The companion disc that accompanies the original album features an unreleased version of every album track, including two versions of “Suicide Note Pt. 1” – a rough mix of the track, along with a separate version of the introduction, which spotlights Dimebag on 12-string acoustic guitar.

The second disc also features a newly remixed version of the title track, rough mixes for “Drag The Waters” and “The Underground In America,” as well as instrumental takes for “13 Steps To Nowhere” and “Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath).” In addition to the studio recordings, the anniversary collection features three live tracks recorded at the Dynamo Festival in Holland in 1998: “War Nerve,” “Suicide Note Pt. II,” and “Sandblasted Skin.”

Track Listing

Disc One

1. The Great Southern Trendkill
2. War Nerve
3. Drag The Waters
4. 10’s
5. 13 Steps To Nowhere
6. Suicide Note Pt. I
7. Suicide Note Pt. II
8. Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath)
9. Floods
10. The Underground In America
11. (Reprise) Sandblasted Skin

Disc Two

1. The Great Southern Trendkill (2016 Mix)
2. War Nerve (Live ’98)
3. Drag The Waters (Early Mix)
4. 10’s (Early Mix)
5. 13 Steps To Nowhere (Instrumental Version)
6. Suicide Note Pt. I (Intro) *
7. Suicide Note Pt. I (Early Mix) *
8. Suicide Note Pt. II (Live ’98)
9. Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath) (Instrumental Version)
10. Floods (Early Mix)
11. The Underground In America (Early Mix)
12. Sandblasted Skin (Live ’98)

*Not included in THE GREAT SOUTHERN OUTTAKES LP release


Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by TBird's Radio Network - at 9:09 am

Categories: Entertainment   Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Next Page »